work gloves

Torque

Vehicle Details
'96 Bird 4.6
Country flag
I'm looking for impact gloves that are actually made well and are durable. I've had it with Mechanix M-pact gloves. One pair of M-pacts didn't even last through a single 2-wheel brake job. The next pair of M-pact2 gloves didn't make it through a single front end suspension rebuild. Same problem with both pairs: fingers blew out. The synthetic leather they use is absolute shit. It gets torn to shreds and that's without even snagging them on anything.

I've been shopping a lot, reading reviews on many different brands and models, but I thought I'd ask you guys before I purchase a new pair whether you've had better luck with any specific gloves. Remember, I need impact (TPR) on the back for finger and wrist protection, as I'm always slamming the backs of my hands against things. Palm padding would be good, too, since I have injured my palms on tool handles before and it's not fun.

I'm an auto mechanic by trade. I don't use any of those "Mechanic" gloves. I find them all too bulky. I use these red stretchy gloves that have black palms. I think they are called gorilla gloves. They come in 10 packs for like $12 at autozone. When they wear out I toss them and grab more from the pack. They are grippy for holding things, they do not hinder my hand movement, and they are breathable. They are not padded or armored like Mechanix gloves though. Like yourself I got tired of spending $25 plus for those things. Then I wind up taking them off anyway. I'll post a picture of what I use in a minute.

Just watch the first 30 seconds. I'm wearing the gloves in this video.

Portwest CT65 is what I use. They're rated A5 for cut resistance and have saved my hands many times. The only drawback to them is they are not waterproof. If I am going to be changing fluids, I put latex gloves over them.

I have also used their A722 Impact-Rated gloves with good results. They are an A4 on the cut resistance scale.