How-To: Amber Daytime Running Lights (DRLs)

Country flag
In my series of How-To articles which nobody may need, but they're my contribution to site growth, here is information previously posted yet somewhat buried in the What [...] today thread.

My usual disclaimer: I'm not a professional, know nothing about electricity, and don't make any recommendations.

 Intro

To provide some background, DRL requirements are published here:

DRLs can be white, clear incandescent, selective yellow, yellow or amber. Each DRL optically combined with a turn signal lamp must be automatically deactivated as a DRL when the turn signal lamp or hazard warning lamp is activated, and automatically reactivated as a DRL when the turn signal lamp or hazard warning lamp is deactivated.

Amber DRLs were somewhat common in the early 2000s, especially among GM and Toyota vehicles, but fell out of favor with the arrival of white LED accent lighting.
Recently, they're making somewhat of a comeback, with amber DRLs popping up on F-150, Challenger, various Kias and apparently as a popular mod on Broncos.

If you don't like DRLs, this isn't for you. If you do, the question of color presents itself. Amber looks nicer than white in my opinion. The challenge then becomes how the DRL interacts with the turn signal.

Starting Point

Most MN12s, except the very early model years, feature a total of four front sockets for 3157 type bulbs, two inboard and two outboard. All have three pin sockets, though the inboard harnesses lack the pin for the major input. Factory wiring therefore is:
  • Inboard:
    • Minor: parking lights
    • Ground
  • Outboard:
    • Major: turn signal/hazard
    • Minor: parking lights/side marker
    • Ground
Adding the third wire to the inboard harness is easy. Simply obtain the pin with a few inches of wire from a junkyard car, open the harness connector, and add the pin. Done.