Deceleration tuning struggles with manual trans swap

XR7-4.6

Administrator
Staff member
Vehicle Details
1994 Cougar XR7 DOHC TR3650
Country flag
So I've been datalogging and tuning with a wideband on and off for almost two months, mostly dialing in the MAF transfer function which is pretty damn good now but I'm now working on other stuff and I just having zero desirable results.

Coasting fuel shutoff(CFSO) plain doesn't work, I've tried everything, even contacted SCT to expand the section in my initially limited pro racer database and can confidently say there's no magic value missing, so it's got to be something else preventing it. Even copy pasted over other people's verified working values(such as Brandon's) to see if I could get it, but no. No CFSO flag in the datalogs, no lean peg on the wideband(actually it goes a little rich to ~13:1) and injectors still pulsing. Unfortunately I cannot say for sure if this worked with the automatic or not before the swap, I *thought it did* but I can't go off of 9 year old memories.

Other issue, semi-related, When I let off the throttle to decelerate or if I'm in between gears from about 2500 rpm or above the exhaust crackles and pops in between like a god damn BMW, I don't like it. It's obviously dumping fuel into the exhaust when the throttle closes where it ignites, what I can't quite figure out is what I can do to remedy it. CFSO shutting off the injectors would help but I I know that's not the root of it. I don't understand the transient fuel section at all, there's no descriptions, very little help on the pro racer forum but I suspect this is the section I should be lookin at?